Fellows and Faculty

Postdoctoral Fellows

Mike Belden, PhD (Sociology) charles.belden@duke.edu
Trenita Childers, PhD (Sociology) tbchilde@email.unc.edu
Kathryn Hale, PhD (Medical Anthropology) katehale@unc.edu
Dalia Khoury, PhD (Social Work) dalia.khoury@duke.edu

Program Faculty


Marisa Domino, PhD (Health Economics) domino@unc.edu
Training Program Director
Professor of Health Policy and Management, UNC

  • Mental health economics and policy
  • Medicaid policy
  • Multiple chronic conditions
  • Criminal justice/mental health intersections

Jeffrey Swanson, PhD
(Medical sociology) jeffrey.swanson@duke.edu
Training Program Associate Director
Professor in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Duke

  • Violence and mental disorder
  • Adult psychiatric epidemiology
  • Services effectiveness research
  • Laws and policies to prevent gun violence and suicide

Byron Powell, PhD
(Social Work) bjpowell@unc.edu

Assistant Professor of Health Policy and Management, UNC

  • Implementation Research
  • Quality Improvement
  • Organizational Change
  • Behavioral Health and Child Welfare

Allison G. Robertson, PhD, MPH
(Health Policy & Management) allison.gilbert@duke.edu

Training Program Associate Director
Assistant Professor in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Duke
Assistant Professor in the Sanford School of Public Policy, Duke

  • Mental health and substance abuse
  • Criminal justice services and policy research
  • Effectiveness and implementation of legal, policy, and treatment interventions


Barbara J. Burns, PhD (Psychology) barbara.burns@duke.edu
Professor in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Duke

  • Effectiveness research
  • Serious emotional disorders and severe mental illness

Will Hall, PhD (Social Work) wjhall@email.unc.edu
Assistant Professor of Social Work, UNC

  • Mental health of LGBTQ populations
  • Practitioner cultural competency
  • Psychosocial mental health interventions

Marvin Swartz, MD
(Psychiatry) marvin.swartz@duke.edu
Professor in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Duke
Chief, Division of Social and Community Psychiatry, Duke

  • Mental health services
  • Severe and persistent mental illness
  • Services effectiveness research

Kathleen Thomas, PhD
(Health Economics) thomas@mail.schsr.unc.edu
Research Fellow, UNC

  • Mental health economics
  • Managed behavioral healthcare


Mimi Chapman, PhD (Social Work) mimi@email.unc.edu
Professor of Social Work, UNC

  • Social Work Practice
  • Child Abuse and Neglect
  • Children’s Health and Mental Health

William Copeland, PhD
(Clinical Psychology) william.copeland@duke.edu

Associate Professor in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Duke

  • Psychiatric epidemiology
  • Developmental psychopathology
  • Psychosocial and emotional stress

E. Jane Costello, PhD
(Psychology) jcostell@psych.mc.duke.edu
Professor in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Duke
Professor in Psychology and Neuroscience, Duke

  • Developmental child psychopathology
  • Mental health services

Gary Cuddeback, PhD, MSW, MPH
(Social Work, Statistics) cuddeback@schsr.unc.edu
Associate Professor of Social Work and Research Fellow, UNC

  • Criminal justice – mental health
  • Community interventions
  • Child & family services

Sarah Desmarais, PhD
(Forensic Psychology) sdesmarais@ncsu.edu

Associate Professor of Psychology, North Carolina State University

  • Violence risk assessment
  • Behavioral health disorders and criminal justice involvement
  • Implementation science
  • Test development and validation

Eric Elbogen, PhD (Psychology) eric.elbogen@duke.edu
Professor in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Duke

  • Legal/policy interventions
  • Violence risk assessment
  • Mandated community treatment
  • Competency to make medical/financial decisions

Alan Ellis, PhD
(Social Work) arellis@ncsu.edu

Assistant Professor in Social Work, North Carolina State University

  • Mental Health promotion
  • Child well-being
  • Methods for comparative effectiveness research

Sue Estroff, PhD (Social Medicine, Anthropology) sue_estroff@med.unc.edu

Professor of Social Medicine, UNC

  • Medical Anthropology
  • Psychiatric Anthropology
  • Chronic Illness
  • Qualitative Methods
  • Health Policy as a Cultural System

Bradley N. Gaynes, MD, MPH
(Medicine, Epidemiology) bradley_gaynes@med.unc.edu
Professor and Associate Chair of Research Education and Training of Psychiatry, UNC

  • Mental disorders in primary care
  • Evidenced-based practices

Kristen H. Lich, PhD
(Health Services Organization and Policy) klich@unc.edu

Assistant Professor of Health Policy and Management, UNC

  • Systems science and simulation modeling
  • Systems improvement and mental health services
  • Dissemination and implementation research

Joanna “Asia” Maselko, ScD
(Epidemiology) jmaselko@email.unc.edu
Associate Professor of Epidemiology, UNC

  • Global mental health
  • Intergenerational transmission of neuropsychiatric risk
  • Religious engagement and health over the lifecourse
  • Determinants of child socio-emotional development

Joseph Morrissey, PhD
(Sociology)  joe_morrissey@unc.edu

Professor of Health Policy & Management and Psychiatry, UNC

  • Mental health & substance abuse systems, services, and policy
  • Criminal justice

Kristin Reiter, PhD
(Health Services Organization and Policy) reiter@email.unc.edu

Associate Professor of Health Policy and Management, UNC

  • Medicare and Medicaid financing policy
  • Hospital financial management
  • Mental health services research

Betsy Sleath, PhD
(Pharmacy/Sociology) betsy_sleath@unc.edu
Professor and Chair of Pharmaceutical Outcomes and Policy, UNC
Director, Child and Adolescent Health Program

  • Health care provider-patient communication
  • Pharmacoepidemiology

Paula Song, PhD
(Health Policy and Management) psong@unc.edu
Associate Professor of Health Policy and Management, UNC

  • Health care financial management
  • Not-for-profit hospital investment decisions and strategies
  • Business case evaluation
  • Community benefit
  • Patient Centered Outcomes Research
  • Accountable Care Organizations

Richard Van Dorn, PhD (Social Work) rvandorn@rti.org

Senior Mental Health Services Researcher, Behavioral Health Epidemiology Program
Research Triangle Institute, Research Triangle Park, NC

  • Violence and severe mental illness
  • Outpatient commitment
  • Psychiatric advance directives
  • Mental health law and policy research

H. Ryan Wagner II, PhD
(Psychology) ryan.wagner@dm.duke.edu
Associate Professor in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Duke

  • Psychological determinants of depression
  • Psychiatric epidemiology