Fellows and Faculty

POSTDOCTORAL FELLOWS

Mike Belden, PhD (Sociology) charles.belden@duke.edu


PROGRAM DIRECTORS

Marisa Domino, PhD (Health Economics) domino@unc.edu
Training Program Director
Professor of Health Policy and Management, UNC

  • Mental health economics and policy
  • Medicaid policy
  • Multiple chronic conditions
  • Criminal justice/mental health intersections


Jeffrey Swanson, PhD
(Medical sociology) jeffrey.swanson@duke.edu
Training Program Deputy Director
Professor in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Duke

  • Violence and mental disorder
  • Adult psychiatric epidemiology
  • Services effectiveness research
  • Laws and policies to prevent gun violence and suicide


Byron Powell, PhD
(Social Work) bjpowell@unc.edu

Training Program Associate Director
Assistant Professor of Health Policy and Management, UNC

  • Implementation Research
  • Quality Improvement
  • Organizational Change
  • Behavioral Health and Child Welfare


Allison G. Robertson, PhD, MPH
(Health Policy & Management) allison.gilbert@duke.edu

Training Program Associate Director
Assistant Professor in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Duke
Assistant Professor in the Sanford School of Public Policy, Duke

  • Mental health and substance abuse
  • Criminal justice services and policy research
  • Effectiveness and implementation of legal, policy, and treatment interventions


PROGRAM FACULTY

Barbara J. Burns, PhD (Psychology) barbara.burns@duke.edu
Professor in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Duke

  • Effectiveness research
  • Serious emotional disorders and severe mental illness


Mimi Chapman, PhD (Social Work)
mimi@email.unc.edu
Professor of Social Work, UNC

  • Social Work Practice
  • Child Abuse and Neglect
  • Children’s Health and Mental Health


Scott Compton, PhD (Social Work) compt004@duke.edu 

Associate Professor in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Duke

  • Anxiety disorders
  • Cognitive-behavioral therapy
  • Children and adolescents
  • Trichotillomania


William Copeland, PhD (Clinical Psychology) william.copeland@duke.edu

Associate Professor in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Duke

  • Psychiatric epidemiology
  • Developmental psychopathology
  • Psychosocial and emotional stress


E. Jane Costello, PhD
(Psychology) jcostell@psych.mc.duke.edu
Professor in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Duke
Professor in Psychology and Neuroscience, Duke

  • Developmental child psychopathology
  • Mental health services


Gary Cuddeback, PhD, MSW, MPH (Social Work, Statistics) cuddeback@schsr.unc.edu
Associate Professor of Social Work and Research Fellow, UNC

  • Criminal justice – mental health
  • Community interventions
  • Child & family services


Sarah Desmarais, PhD
(Forensic Psychology) sdesmarais@ncsu.edu

Associate Professor of Psychology, North Carolina State University

  • Violence risk assessment
  • Behavioral health disorders and criminal justice involvement
  • Implementation science
  • Test development and validation


Eric Elbogen, PhD (Psychology) eric.elbogen@duke.edu
Professor in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Duke

  • Legal/policy interventions
  • Violence risk assessment
  • Mandated community treatment
  • Competency to make medical/financial decisions


Alan Ellis, PhD
(Social Work) arellis@ncsu.edu

Assistant Professor in Social Work, North Carolina State University

  • Mental Health promotion
  • Child well-being
  • Methods for comparative effectiveness research


Sue Estroff, PhD (Social Medicine, Anthropology) sue_estroff@med.unc.edu

Professor of Social Medicine, UNC

  • Medical Anthropology
  • Psychiatric Anthropology
  • Chronic Illness
  • Qualitative Methods
  • Health Policy as a Cultural System


Bryan Garner, PhD (Psychology) bgarner@rti.org
Senior Implementation Research Scientist, RTI International

  • Implementation research
  • Substance use disorder research
  • Research design & methods

 

Bradley N. Gaynes, MD, MPH (Medicine, Epidemiology) bradley_gaynes@med.unc.edu
Professor and Associate Chair of Research Education and Training of Psychiatry, UNC

  • Mental disorders in primary care
  • Evidenced-based practices


Vivian Go, PhD (Health Behavior) vgo@email.unc.edu
Professor of Health Behavior, UNC

  • Global health
  • HIV/AIDS
  • Mental health
  • Sexually transmitted diseases
  • Substance abuse
  • Violence prevention


Will Hall, PhD (Social Work) wjhall@email.unc.edu
Assistant Professor of Social Work, UNC

  • Mental health of LGBTQ populations
  • Practitioner cultural competency
  • Psychosocial mental health interventions

 

Kristen Hassmiller Lich, PhD (Health Services Organization and Policy) klich@unc.edu
Assistant Professor of Health Policy and Management, UNC

  • Systems science and simulation modeling
  • Systems improvement and mental health services
  • Dissemination and implementation research


Joanna “Asia” Maselko, ScD
(Epidemiology) jmaselko@email.unc.edu
Associate Professor of Epidemiology, UNC

  • Global mental health
  • Intergenerational transmission of neuropsychiatric risk
  • Religious engagement and health over the lifecourse
  • Determinants of child socio-emotional development


Joseph Morrissey, PhD
(Sociology)  joe_morrissey@unc.edu

Professor of Health Policy & Management and Psychiatry, UNC

  • Mental health & substance abuse systems, services, and policy
  • Criminal justice


Brian Pence, PhD (Epidemiology) bpence@unc.edu
Associate Professor of Epidemiology, UNC

  • Links between mental health and HIV-related behaviors and health outcomes in the SE US and in Africa


Betsy Sleath, PhD (Pharmacy/Sociology) betsy_sleath@unc.edu
Professor and Chair of Pharmaceutical Outcomes and Policy, UNC
Director, Child and Adolescent Health Program

  • Health care provider-patient communication
  • Pharmacoepidemiology


Leyla Stambaugh, PhD (Psychology) lstambaugh@rti.org
Senior Research Psychologist, RTI International

  • Public health and well-being
  • Social and justice policy
  • Surveys and data collection
  • Evaluation assessment and analytics


Marvin Swartz, MD (Psychiatry) marvin.swartz@duke.edu
Professor in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Duke
Chief, Division of Social and Community Psychiatry, Duke

  • Mental health services
  • Severe and persistent mental illness
  • Services effectiveness research


Kathleen C. Thomas, PhD
(Health Economics) thomas@mail.schsr.unc.edu
Research Fellow, UNC

  • Mental health economics
  • Managed behavioral healthcare

 

H. Ryan Wagner II, PhD (Psychology) ryan.wagner@dm.duke.edu
Associate Professor in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Duke

  • Psychological determinants of depression
  • Psychiatric epidemiology


Kathryn Whetten, PhD (Health Policy) k.whetten@duke.edu
Professor in Public Policy, Duke

  • Access to health care
  • Child health
  • Education
  • Health policy
  • Health systems
  • HIV/AIDS
  • Human rights
  • Mental health
  • Substance abuse
  • Violence